Hard Times by Paramore – song review

So, after 4 years of waiting Paramore surprised us with new song called “Hard Times”. What do we get with “Hard Times”?

paramore_after_laughter_press-920x603.jpg

First, one question. Have you ever been in situation that you like the song a lot, but you are still kinda disappointed? Because “Hard Times” is exactly like that. Don’t get me wrong, I am not disappointed in the direction Paramore went because this is exactly what I expected. Their self tilted album was in this kind of vain. Reason why I am kinda disappointed is that this is not as good as pop songs they made over their long career like “Still Into You” or “Ain’t It Fun” and don’t even make me to compare this with their pre self tilted work because that part of their career is amazing. Their self tilted album is good, but nowhere close to Brand New Eyes and RIOT!. After all, Brand New Eyes is one of my favorite albums of all time.

Now, let’s talk about production. For this song Paramore went with same producer they had on their self tilted album Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Who also produced one of the best songs of this century “Midnight City”.) which was really good decision if you ask me, because production on that album was also best part. Little things like those electric guitar strums in the verses or that “ugh” during the chorus is what made this song sound so much better.

After first listen I literally went to check was new Crash Bandicoot game announced because this sounds like perfect song to be featured in that game and it turned out  that there is some kind of new Crash Bandicoot game, I mean it is remaster but I still count that. So, Vicarious Visions please include this song in the official soundtrack because it fits perfectly. That synth tone and especially that “ugh” sounds like they came right from Crash Bandicoot soundtrack. Whole song has that weird “jungle” sound. Also outro of the song for some reason reminds me of “Harder Better Faster Stronger” by Daft Punk which is a good thing if you ask me.

img-thing (1).jpg

One of the main reasons why I always liked Paramore was Hayley Williams. Her very charismatic voice was always something I appreciated a lot.  Her vocal performance on this song is everything I always wanted from her. Especially when she sings the line”And I gotta get to rock bottom” in the chorus and “You hit me with lightning!” in the second verse. Her vocal performance is so good that she totally sells this song. Just listen to the bridge. It is totally carried by her great performance and it serves as great introduction to the chorus

Lyrics of this song are very straightforward. They are dealing with the subject of struggle and what that same struggle makes you to do and there comes my only complain towards this song. Why would you write as dark lyrics as these are and pair it with such a happy sounding music. It kinda makes no sense to me. Don’t get me wrong lyrics are very well written but I don’t get why would you pair them with the song like this. I would give perfect 5/5 score if it wasn’t for that.

Overall this song sounds like if Chvrches and Daft Punk made a song for Crash Bandicoot and I can’t complain about that since I love both artists. This song gets 4/5


Follow me on Twitter

Like my Facebook Page

 

 

Leave a Reply

