Judgement Day by Dragonforce – song review

DragonForce are a British power metal band based in London, England. Formed in 1999, the group are known for their long and fast guitar solos, fantasy-themed lyrics, and electronic sounds in their music to add to their retro video game-influenced sound. They were the first band I really liked or how some people like to say “obsessed”. It was somewhere in 2010 when my cousin showed me “Through The Fire And Flames” and OMG. I was blown away by sheer speed of their guitar playing. Until that day I have never seen someone playing that fast and melodic.

At that time my only source of new music was Youtube so what I would do is to literally type “Dragonforce new song”. And then one day new song was actually released. It was “Fallen World” and I absolutely adored it. Their next album “Power Within” was first metal album I have heard in full. Basically what I am trying to say is that Dragonforce was always band I liked a lot and I still do.

So in 2017 they released new song called “Judgement Day”. So is it any good?

DragonForce_Logo.png

 

This is not good, this is fantastic. Let me explain why. So you know how main appeal of DragonForce is their speed and how their music hypes you up? This song is basically that times 10. It is like Rush in 220 BPM,Rush on steroids. Song changes its mood a lot of times. First starts as weird electronic song then goes through its black metal part with great blast beats and then it becomes standard DragonForce song with very fast guitars and great keyboard parts. First time I listened the song, especially that intro with electronic stuff something got on my mind. Was this maybe produced by SOPHIE? Because only him can make something that weird.

dragonforce-pw-3mh-2012

This song has everything great DragonForce song needs to have. Shredding solos, great vocals, great keyboard solo and also has parts that are not typical for DragonForce. Those parts are already mentioned weird electronic and Black metal part in the beginning. Guitar solos in this song are awesome as usual. I mean what is DragonForce song without very fast shredding guitar solos?

Chorus of this song is absolutely fantastic. Marc’s very fast vocal delivery does not sound forced at all and matches with very fast instrumentation very good. This song like most of the DragonForce songs will sound very good live.

As for the lyrics, look nobody listens to the DragonForce because of their lyrics. Their lyrics are most of the time almost same. This song is not exception, but lack of great lyrics is justified by amazing instrumentation.

Overall this song is pretty good and I would definitely recommend you to check it out. This song gets 4.5/5.

Follow me on Twitter

Like my Facebook page

 

 

Leave a Reply

